Awesome Lapathon Effort Rewarded - Glasshouse Christian College

Awesome Lapathon Effort Rewarded

  • September 17, 2014

Awesome Lapathon Effort Rewarded

Presentations were made this week for the mighty effort put in by students and teachers during the Lapathon Challenge in Term 2. The classes have been patiently waiting to find out who the Overall Class Champions are so all was revealed this week. Year 6M led for most of the competition and were not able to be beaten even after 6G won the lapathon Relay Challenge. 6M are Senior Lapathon Champions for 2014.

Year 1M were so determined during their daily runs and really worked as a team to claim victory and ne named Junior Lapathon Champions. They encouraged each other running every single day and edged ahead of the other Junior classes in the last couple of weeks. Both classes have won a day of adventure and fun with Mrs Stott in term four.

Students were so determined each day to run as many laps as they could to accumulate more laps than other classes. Faces were bright red and sweat ran down foreheads as students returned to class after each daily ten minute run. Some students ran stride for stride with classmates and others ran and walked and jogged as many laps as possible, all the time improving their fitness. This improvement was very evident during the cross country races where most students ran the courses and finished really strongly.

The boy and girl from each class running the highest number of laps were presented certificates and prizes amongst the cheers from classmates. The girl and boy with the most laps overall in the Junior and Upper Primary were also presented prizes.

Bakani Kombanie and Patrick McKenzie did run stride for stride every day and completed exactly the same number of laps to become Overall Individual winners. They ran 147 laps or 44 kilometres over the duration of the lapathon. Lilly-Jean Cruise also excelled winning the Girls Overall  Award for most laps run completing 115 laps or 34.5 km and she is only in Year three!

The highest number of laps run by a Junior student was presented to Jake O’Grady who won convincingly running 109 laps with Thomas Quinn second and Matthew Fielding in third. The girls competition was much closer with Bre-Enna Coops and Maryanne Eder both running 88 laps to be joint winners of the Girls Individual Award.  Brianna Albrand and Claire Logar were second equal and Kaitlin Moore third.

Individual Class Winners 2014

Class Girl Laps Boy Laps
Prep G Shelbi McNultyChloe Roulston   65 Jarrett Coulson   80
Prep M Madison Attwell   57 Hayden Cullen   66
Prep W Hannah Gassner   61 Benjamin Ramke   71
Yr 1G Aimee Cullen   65 Nicholas James   80
Yr 1M Bre-Enna Coops   88 Caleb-Jay  McNamara   90
Yr 1W Chloe Turnbull   69 Uyapo Kombanie   84
Yr 2G Kaitlin Morris   76 Jake O’Grady 109
Yr 2M Claire LogarBrianna Albrand   78 Max Cashin   91
Yr 2W Maryanne Eder   88 Thomas Quinn   95
Yr 3G Lilli-Jean Cruise 115 Joshua McKellar =Kieran Robertson 102102
Yr 3M Kiara Sauer   81 Bryce Sambrook 117
Yr 3W Laura Coumi   90 Christian Lucas=Aaron van der Palan   97
Yr 4G Molly McCaughey 101 Xander Bryant =Daemon Cruise 115115
Yr 4M Ella Childs 105 Daniel Coumi 115
Yr 5G Lucy Brander 106 Bradyn Bell 125
Yr 5M Kiana Reeves   92 Declan Martin 126
Yr 6G Jamie-Lee Goudie 101 Samuel Townson 116
Yr 6M Breeanna Bullock 107 Bakani Kombanie =Patrick McKenzie 147147

Winning Junior Class    1st  1M        2nd  2G,    3rd 2M

Winning Senior Class   1st   6M   2629 = 789km     2nd   3M,    3rd   3G

Upper Primary Presentations

Lower Primary Presentations

Scroll to Top