Secondary Swimming Carnival 2018 - Glasshouse Christian College

Secondary Swimming Carnival 2018

  • February 14, 2018

Secondary Swimming Carnival 2018

The GCC Secondary Swimming Carnival was enjoyed by everyone in attendance early in Term 1. There were some exceptional efforts from all participants and the vibrant house colours, dancing and loud cheering made for an exciting atmosphere. All enjoyed the novelty races, surfboard relay, salmon migration and fashion of the pool. This year’s ‘bomb off’ competition was won by Elliot Stevens.

Healthy competition and team rivalry were evident throughout the day as students cheered their swimmers to the finish line.

Competition in the pool was extremely close across most age groups with some champions being decided by the smallest of margins. Students swam in either the A or B division races according to their previous nominations.  It was a fantastic spectacle to see the regular close finishes.

Final house points have been relatively close in recent years however 2018 will be remembered for a dominant landslide win by Ararat. The final points were Ararat 1189, Sinai 1117 and Zion 747.

Overall, the standard of competition at GCC continues to improve as this year 22 new records were set by six separate swimmers. Congratulations to all students who managed to qualify to swim at the district carnival which was held on Tuesday 13 February. In particular, our age champions and record breakers.

Thank you to all parents, teachers and house captains who helped make the day a success.

This year’s boys and girls swimming age champions and record breakers are as follows:

Age Champions
 12TBC after Primary Carnival
13Ella Childs
Alex Chidgey
14Caitlin Moore
Joshua Collins
15Lara James
Aiden McKellar
16Chloe Dunford
Patrick McKenzie
OpensStephanie Ferris
Aaron Lerch
Record Breakers
14 Girls BFly

14 Girls Back

14 Girls Free

14 Girls 50 Free

14 Girls 200 IM

14 Girls Breast

Caitlin Moore
14 Boys BFly

14 Boys Back

14 Boys Free

14 Boys Breast

14 Boys 50 Free

14 Boys 200 IM

Joshua Collins
16 Girls BFly

16 Girls Back

16 Girls 100 Free

16 Girls 50 Free

16 Girls 200 IM

Chloe Dunford
Open Boys Back

Open Boys 200 IM

Aaron Lerch
16 Boys 100 Free

16 Boys Breast

Patrick McKenzie
16 Girls BreastBaylee Paterson
Scroll to Top