Enthusiasm Abounds at Junior Cross Country - Glasshouse Christian College

Enthusiasm Abounds at Junior Cross Country

  • May 14, 2014

House Tents were buzzing with activity as keen house captains and friends transformed plain tents into colourful and exciting dens for their team mates. The sharks swarmed, the crocs ruled and the tigers roared in anticipation of a day of racing and point collecting! Impressive War Cries rang through Beerwah as teams endeavoured to outcry the opposition.

Children demonstrated the fitness they had gained from participating in the Lapathon Challenge over the past six weeks. Students ran for ten minutes each day in an effort to run more laps than any other class. Everyone at the Cross Country was impressed by the ability of the children to keep running and complete the courses comfortably. Year 6 students did a great job encouraging runners during the race as they acted as guides around the course.

The races began with the Prep boys and cheering from parents and team mates was fantastic. The Prep boys and girls sped around their 750m course with such determination and finished strongly. The Prep boys race was won by Owen Heathwood who led for most of the race and the girls’ race was won by Hannah Gassner.

The Year 1 students were next, also running 750m around the College Oval and over obstacles along the way. The boys race was won by Nicholas James but Jake McGilvray and Dylan Bradley battled it out for second and third with Jake just beating Dylan in the last 100m.  Jorja Palmer won the girls race with Saige Wilson in second and Chloe Turnbull in third.

The most competitive races of the day were in the Year 2age group. Islah Dwyer and Courtney Bond ran together for most of their race with Islah making a break on Courtney in the park section of the race. Islah ran in to become the winner, with Courtney close behind in second and Gracee Ashdown finishing well in third place. The boys race was always going to be exciting with several boys showing fantastic fitness and running ability during the Lapathon Challenge. Max Cashin, Matthew Fielding and Jake O’Grady battled it out around the 1200m  course with Max proving to be too strong over the final 200m of their race, beating Daniel and Jake although both boys finished strongly not far behind Max. Every Year Two boy competed which was an awesome effort by the boys.

The Year 3 boys were also very close at the front with many boys looking fit and keen to be amongst the top ten finishers. Even with a broken arm James Roser ran a decisive race leading for most of the way. Joshua Moore, Lachlan McKilvray, Thomas Rauter and Kieran Robertson all ran fantastic races battling it out for second and third. Joshua and Lachlan raced each other right to the finishline with Joshua holding off Lachlan to claim second place.

In the Year 3 girls race the lead changed several times as the girls jostled for positions. Meg Jarvis gained a lead in the second half of the race with Laura Coumi and Olivia McKenzie testing each other out right to the finish line. Laura ran strongly edging ahead of Olivia who finished third.

Points from the Junior Carnival were totalled and were once again amazingly close. When the running points were added only 2 points separated Ararat and Sinai! These points and the war cry points were added to the Primary, Middle and Senior totals where Ararat and Zion houses were also only separated by 2 points after their competitions. After totalling all points Ararat was declared Cross Country Champions for 2014 with Zion 20 points behind in second and Sinai finishing in third place.

Ribbons were presented to the first three placegetters by Mrs Bryers and three children from each race received a Lucky Spot Prize for their efforts in running the Cross Country. The Cross Country House Shield was presented to the very proud Ararat Junior House Captains. It was fantastic to see so many parents and grandparents supporting their children and also cheering others on.

Prep GirlsHannah GassnerAnnabelle BlinstonChloe Roulston
Prep BoysOwen HeathwoodWilliam O’MaraBenjamin Ramke
Yr 1 GirlsJorja PalmerSaige WilsonChloe Turnbull
Yr 1 BoysNicholas JamesJacob McGilvrayDylan Bradley
Yr 2 GirlsIslah-Lyleigh DwyerCourtney BondGracee Ashdown
Yr 2 BoysMax CashinMatthew FieldingJake O’Grady
Yr 3 Girls (8 years)Megan JarvisLaura CoumiOlivia McKenzie
Yr 1 Boys (8 years)Jaymes RoserJoshua MooreLachlan McGilvray

Wendy Stott 

For the full photo gallery please click here or check out these highlights below.

Share This
Scroll to Top